AIC Scientific Committee

The AIC Scientific Office also comprises the AIC Scientific Committee, whose Board has been just appointed on September 2012, joining the major Italian scientists and clinicians in the field of CD and gluten-related pathologies. In particular, the present Board is on charge until April 2015 and comprises 9 specialist physicians in internal medicine, as well as gastroenterology and pediatrics (see the Table). The Board also includes 2 Honor Members.

The Scientific Committee is made of three parts (see the Figure): the Board, the Specialty Area and the AIC Regional Practitioners Section (the Territory).

The Scientific Committee is directed by the Board which supervises the group of clinicians and researchers constituting the Specialty Area of the Committee. In particular, it is faculty of the Board to propose and organize scientific and/or clinical studies, either locally or multicenter, by engaging members of the Specialty Area with fitting expertise, such as geneticists, biochemists, biologists, clinicians and so on.

The Board also constitutes the AIC assessment advisory group about improvement and diffusion of national and international-approved clinical guide-lines, including diagnosis and follow-up. Moreover, the Board acts for AIC at appointments with Authorities and Institutions about scientific and medicine issues. Finally, the Board supervises the “Celiac Disease Network”, a project aimed at guaranteeing excellence and harmony of both clinic and scientific knowledge about celiac disease and gluten-related topics, all over Italy.

The Scientific Committee also includes the whole plethora of AIC regional councilors who include general practitioners, specialist physicians as well as health givers managing the celiac disease in the Italian territory. The AIC regional councilors are mainly involved with the “Celiac Disease Network”.



Table: Members of the first Board 2012-2015 of the renewed AIC Scientific Committee:

COORDINATOR: Silano M., the National Institute of Health, Rome, Italy.

Auricchio S., Honor Member, University of Naples, Italy.

Bardella M.T., Cà Granda Ospedale Maggiore Foundation, Milan, Italy.

Cardi E., Honor Member, University La Sapienza, Rome, Italy.

Corazza G.R., Policlinico San Matteo Foundation, University of Pavia, Italy.

Greco L., University of Naples, Italy.

Guariso G., University of Padua, Italy.

Lionetti E., University of Catania, Italy.

Not T., Univeristy of Trieste, Burlo Garofolo Foundation, Italy.

Troncone R., University of Naples, Italy.

Volta U., S.Orsola-Malpighi Hospital, University of Bologna, Italy.