“ABC” of the Gluten-free diet

Condividi su facebook
Condividi su twitter

With the help of scientific experts, AIC creates and maintains an updated “classification” of food categories with reference to the risk of gluten contamination. This classification is specific for the Italian market, so it’s possible to find slight differences from similar lists of other countries.

The market is constantly evolving to follow the needs of consumers and the production processes change and improve, for these reasons,it is possible that over time the ABC undergoes changes.

ABC has been translated by the AIC. All rights are reserved and reproduction, even partial or by any means, is prohibited unless expressly authorized by the AIC.


Unsafe, check the label

Forbidden, it contains gluten!

ALWAYS SAFE: These foods are always safe for coeliacs as naturally gluten-free or manufactured through processes that don’t involve any risk of contamination.

UNSAFE CHECK THE LABEL: these foods may contain gluten as ingredient or traces due to contamination. They are safe if the label brings the claim “gluten-free” (“senza glutine” in Italian language).

FORBIDDEN: These food products always contain gluten. They are NOT suitable for coeliacs.

These food products are -of course- NOT listed in our Food & Drink Directory.

Thanks to our young volunteers: Luca Pocher, Luana Giberti andAlessiaPatuellifor providing the translation with the collaboration of Ida Borzillo, Giulia Papi, Camilla Caso, Martina Alberghini, Clelia Vitale, BenedettaPancrazi, Camilla Filighera, Adriana Paoli, Isabella Consorti, Diana Rosone and of the Class 4 D of Applied Sciences programme of LiceoCavalleri in Parabiago (MI)

Cereals, Tubers, Flour and derivatives

  • Rice in grains
  • Corn seeds, Steamed corn kernels
  • Buckwheat seeds
  • Amaranth seeds
  • Millet seeds
  • Quinoa grains
  • Sorghum seeds
  • Teff seeds
  • Fonio seeds
  • Tubers (potato, sweet potato, Mexican potato, cassava, Jerusalem artichoke, etc.)
  • Substitute products included in the Register of the Ministry of Health
  • Oats (as an ingredient included in the National Register of the Ministry of Health only)
  • Allowed grains mix, allowed grains and legumes mix
  • Flour, starches, meals (e.g. maizen) and groats, creams and flakes of allowed cereals
  • Instant cornmeal
  • Chickpea, soybean, chestnut, almond, hazelnut flour, etc.
  • Malt, malt extract of allowed cereals
  • Malt extract of not allowed cereals
  • Tapioca flour
  • Gluten free wheat starch
  •  Allowed cereal-based breakfast products (puffed, flakes, muesli)
  • allowed waffles and rice cakes
  • Allowed cereal bran
  • Vegetable and dietary fibres
  • Prepacked popcorn
  • Readymade risottos (bagged, frozen, flavoured)
  • Couscous, tacos, tortillas from allowed cereals
  • Substitutes products (e.g. flour mixture, bread, bread substitutes, pasta)
  • Wheat
  • Emmer/spelt
  • Barley
  • Oat (except the one contained in the products included in the National Ministry of Health)
  • Rye
  • Monococco
  • Khorasan wheat (commercialized as Kamut®)
  • Spelt
  • Triticale
  • Flours, starch, groats, semolina, prohibited cereals creams and flakes
  • First courses prepared with prohibited cereals (pasta, stuffed pasta, potato dumplings Roma-style dumplings, pizzocheri (pasta from Valtellina), pancakes)
  • Bread and baked substitutes, sweets and salted,  prepared  with not allowed cereals (loaf bread, bread crumbs, flat bread, pizza,piadine, panzerotti, breadsticks, crackers, rusks, taralli, toasted bread, pretzels, cracotte, biscuits, snacks, pastries, cakes)
  • Wheat germs
  • Flours and ethnic derived: bulgur (boulgour o burghul), couscous (from prohibited cereals), cracked wheat, frik, greis, greunkern, seitan, tabulè
  • Bran produced with prohibited cereals
  • Malt produced with prohibited cereals
  • Breakfast products produced with prohibited cereals (puffed, flakes, muesli, porridge)
  • Polenta (if the buckwheat flour is mixed with wheat flour)

Meat, fish and eggs

  • All kinds of meat, fish, shellfish and crustaceans (fresh or frozen) not mixed with other ingredients (with the exception of the sulphites, citric acid, ascorbic acid, sodium citrate, sodium carbonates)
  • Preserved fish: natural, in oil, in salt, smoked, free of additives, flavourings and other substances (with the exception of the sulphites, citric acid, ascorbic acid)
  • Eggs
  • Pasteurized and liquid eggs (whole, egg yolks or egg whites) without additives, flavourings and other substances (non-flavored)
  • Raw ham
  • Lard of Colonnata IGP and Lard d’Arnad DOP
  • Pork, beef or poultry salami and sausage (bresaola, coppa, cotechino, lard, mortadella, bacon, ham, salami, sausage, speck, würstel, pig’s trotter, sliced chicken or turkey, etc.)
  • Preserved meat (ex. lunch meat, jelly)
  • Hamburger
  • Preserved fish: natural, in oil, in salt, smoked, with the addition of other substances (with the exception of the sulphites, citric acid, ascorbic acid)
  • Homogenized meat, fish, ham
  • Ready meals or pre-cooked (with meat or fish)
  • Eggs (whole, egg yolks or egg whites) liquid, flavored and pasteurized
  • Powder eggs (whole, egg yolks or egg whites)
  • Surimi
  • Meat or fish breaded (veal chop, sticks, fried fish, etc.) or floured or mixed with breadcrumbs (hamburgers, meatballs, etc.) or cooked in sauces thickened with prohibited flour

Milk, diary, cheese and vegetable substitutes

  • Milk: diary (pasteurized), long-life (UHT, sterilised), delactosed, highly digestible, without flavourings or other substances added (with the exception ofvitamins and/or minerals added)
  • Powdered milk without other ingredients
  • Toddlers milk (0-12 months)
  • Fermented milk, probiotics (containing only milk/yogurt, sugar and lactobacillus)
  • Fresh and aged, even delactosed, cheese
  • Parmigiano Reggiano DOP and Grana Padano DOP grated cheese
  • Natural (light or full-fat) yogurt, even delactosed
  • White creamy yogurt without thickeners, flavourings or other substances (containing only yogurt, sugar and lactobacillus)
  • Greek yogurt (containing only milk, milk cream and lactobacillus), without flavourings or other substances added
  • Cream: fresh (pastorised) and long-life (UHT), even delactosed, not mixed with other ingredients, excluding carrageenan (E 407)
  • Cream: long-life (UHT), dressed with mushrooms, salmon, etc., whipped, spray, vegetable
  • Fruity yogurt, creamy
  • White creamy yogurt, thickeners, flavourings or other substances added
  • Greek yogurt thickeners, flavourings or other substances added
  • Soy, rice yogurt
  • Sliced, spreadable, vegetable (for ex. tofu) and cream cheese.
  • Light cheese added with thickeners, flavours or other substances
  • Spreadable cheese added with thickeners, flavours or other substances
  • Cottage cheese, thickeners, flavourings or other substances added
  • Grated cheese mixes
  • Creams, puddings, milk, soy, rice based panna cotta
  • Powdered milk with others ingredients
  • Condensed milk
  • Fiber, cocoa, flavourings or other substances added milk (except vitamin and/or minerals added)
  • Growing up milk (1-3 years)
  • Fermented milk, probiotics containing thickeners, flavourings or other substances
  • Milk, soya, rice, almond based drinks
  • Cheese baby food
  • Convenience cheese based food, breaded with forbidden flours
  • Malt, cereal, biscuits yogurt
  • Cereal milk, biscuits milk
  • Oat based beverage

Vegetables and Legumes

  • All types of vegetables (fresh, dried, frozen, freeze-dried)
  • Preserved vegetables and mushrooms (brine, pickled, in oil, corned) if only made up of: vegetables and/or mushrooms, water, salt, oil, vinegar, sugar, sulphur dioxide, ascorbic acid, citric acid), spices and aromatic herbs
  • Steamed/boiled vegetables, even if added with salt, ascorbic acid and citric acid
  • Fresh, dried, frozen mushrooms
  • All legumes (fresh, frozen, dried and tinned) or only made up of water, salt, sugar, sulphurousanydride, ascorbic acid, citric acid, tomato sauce: carobs, chick peas, chickling peas, beans, broad beans, lentils, lupin beans, peas, soy
  • Prepared vegetable soup (frozen, fresh, dried) only made up of vegetables (vegetables, legumes, potatoes)
  • Prepared vegetable soup made up of vegetable and other ingredients
  • Vegetable soups
  • Soups with gluten-free cereals
  • Legumes mix, allowed grains and legumes mix
  • Ready-to-consume dishes of pre-cooked frozen vegetables (for ex. vegetables and cheese)
  • Pre-fried and pre-cooked frozen potatoes
  • Pre-packed crisps bag (snack)
  • Instant or frozen purée
  • Potato flakes
  • Preserved vegetables, steamed vegetables, boiled vegetables mixed with other ingredients
  • Grilled vegetables (brine, pickled, in oil, frozen)
  • Homogenized vegetables
  • Vegetables (soups, etc.) with not allowed cereals
  • Covered with breadcrumbs, floured, battered with not allowed ingredients vegetables


  • All types of fruit(fresh and frozen)
  • All types of dried fruit nuts or not (roasted, salted even if vegetal oils is added)
  • Dehydrated fruit, dried not floured even if added with sugar, syrup of glucose or glucose-fructose, vegetal oils, sulphites, citric acid and ascorbic acid (dates, figs, prunes, sultanas etc.)
  • Canned fruit even if added with citric acid, ascorbic acid, juice, sugar, syrup of glucose or glucose-fructose
  • Shakes, mousse, fruit sauces made only of fruit, sugar, ascorbic acid (E300 or vitamin C) and citric acid (E330)
  • Dehydrated fruit, dried not floured added with other ingredients
  • Candied, caramelized, frosted fruits
  • Shakes, mousse and fruit sauces mixed with other ingredients
  • Homogenized fruit
  • Flour and chopped dried fruit (coconut, almonds, hazelnuts, chestnuts etc.)
  • Dehydrated floured fruit (dried figs, etc.)

Drinks and ingredients for make beverages

  • Fruit juice no added with vitamins and other ingredients (preservatives, flavourings, food coloring…) except for ascorbic acid (E300, or vitamin C), citric acid (E330), sugar, fructose, syrup of glucose or glucose-fructose
  • Fizzy drinks (cola, orange, etc.) without sweeteners
  • Light drinks, “zero”, with sweeteners
  • Fruit based drinks
  • Soy, rice, almond milk drinks
  • Drinks with ginseng or ginseng flavor
  • Milkshake/smoothie (ready drinks or power)
  • Salt supplements (liquidor power)
  • Fruit juice with vitamines and other ingredients
  • Instant hot chocolate/cocoa drinks, cappuccinos
  • Syrups for drinks or slush
  • Effervescent beverage powders or tabs
  • Oat drink

Coffee, Tea, Herbal Tea

  • Coffee, decaffeinated coffee, filter coffee, coffee pods
  • Tea, caffeinefree tea, camomile tea, herbal tea (bulk, filters, bags) with herbs, fruit and flavourings
  • Ginseng coffee, drinks with ginseng flavor
  • Instant coffee
  • Pods for hot drinks
  • Tea, camomile tea, herbal tea (liquid, instant or powder)
  • Tea, caffeine free tea, herbal tea (bulk, filters, bags) with herbs, fruit and other ingredients (chocolate, meringue, caramel…)
  • Istant coffee, coffee substitutes, gluten cereal based drinks (i.e. barley) excluding those labelled as gluten-free*

    *Sporadic consumption is recommended


  • Wine, champagne
  • Distillates (cognac, gin, grappa, rum, tequila, whisky, vodka) without flavourings or other substances added
  • Alcoholic beverages with added flavourings or other substances (for ex. liquors, distillates added with other substances)
  • Beers from permitted cereals
  • Cider
  • Barley and/or wheat beers, excluding those labelled as with gluten-free*

    *Sporadic consumption is recommended


  • Honey, sugar (white, brown, grain)
  • Raw licorice root
  • Maltodextrins and glucose syrups, including dextrose, even if derived from prohibited cereals
  • Pure fructose
  • Syrup of agave, maple
  • Cocoa powder
  • Candies, candied fruits, sugared almond, jellies, chewing-gum
  • Chocolate (with and without filling), chocolate spreads and/or hazelnut
  • Cake decorations (pralines, sprinkles, food coloring)
  • Sweeteners
  • Industrial or artisanal ice cream, finished materials for homemade ice cream/ice cream parlor
  • Jams and marmalades
  • Marrons glacés
  • Fondant, marzipan
  • Nougat, brittle
  • Icing sugar, flavoured
  • Chocolate with prohibited cereals
  • Cakes, biscuits and cakes prepared with flour prohibited and/or ingredients unsuitable

Fats, spices, seasonings & others

  • Butter, clarified butter, lard, cocoa butter
  • Vegetable oils
  • Wine vinegar (not flavoured)
  • Traditional Balsamic Vinegar DOP: from Modena, from Reggio Emilia; Modena Balsamic Vinegar IGP
  • Apple cider vinegar
  • (Brewer’s) yeast: fresh, freeze-dried, dry
  • Baking soda, baking ammonia, cream of tartar as they are Yeast extract
  • Agar Agar leaves
  • Royal jelly, pollen
  • Tomato sauce, peeled tomatoes, chopped tomatoes and tomato concentrate not mixed with other ingredients excluding ascorbic acid (E300 or vitamin C), citric acid (E330), tomato juice, sugar, salt
  • Pepper, salt, saffron
  • Spices and aromatic herbs as they are; even when added with salt
  • Curry only intended as spice and aromatic herb
  • Lemon juice not added with other ingredients (excluding metabisulphites and essential oil)
  • Seeds (hemp, chia, sunflower, flax, sesame, pumpkin, etc.)
  • Flavoured vinegar, balsamic dressing (not DOP balsamic vinegar, not IGP balsamic vinegar)
  • Bèchamel made with allowed cereals’ flour
  • Light butter, margarine and light margarine
  • Dressing with non defined composition
  • Ready sauces (Bolognese sauce, pesto, etc.)
  • Seeds mix
  • Sauces (maionese, mustard, ketchup, etc.) pâté, anchovy paste
  • Mustard
  • Stock cube, ready soup, stock (meat and vegetable)
  • Aromatized seasoning
  • Agar-Agar powder, Agar-Agar bars
  • Guar gum, xanthan gum
    Flavourings, vanillin
  • Isinglass, jelly, thickeners
  • Baking powder (leavening agent)
  • Fresh liquid brewing yeast
  • Soy lecithin
  • Miso soup, tamari, soy sauce
  • Curry added with other ingredients
  • Bean curd
  • Sourdough, mother dough
  • Wheat gluten (seitan)
  • Bechamel made with forbidden cereals’ flours

Dietary Supplement



  • Dietary supplement

Condividi su facebook
Condividi su twitter
Torna al sito regionale

Questo sito web utilizza cookies tecnici e di terze parti, anche di analisi statistica, al fine di migliorare l’esperienza di navigazione e le funzionalità. I cookie di analisi possono essere trattati per fini non tecnici dalle terze parti. Per avere maggiori informazioni e negare il consenso ai cookies clicca qui